Friday, August 1, 2008

Old Timers Day Info

Here is a press release from the Yankees concerning Old Timers Day:

The New York Yankees announced that more than 70 Old-Timers, including 18 first-time Old-Timers, are scheduled to attend the 62nd annual Old-Timers’ Day at Yankee Stadium on Saturday, August 2. This season marks the final time that Old-Timers’ Day festivities will take place at the current Yankee Stadium, as the club will move into the new Yankee Stadium across 161st Street in 2009.

Gates will open to the public at 12:30 p.m. and introductions are scheduled to begin at 1:45 p.m. with the traditional Old-Timers’ game to follow. The Yankees will then host the Los Angeles Angels at 3:55 p.m.

The Old-Timers are headlined by Hall of Famers Yogi Berra, Wade Boggs, Whitey Ford, Reggie Jackson, Dave Winfield and 2008 inductee Rich “Goose” Gossage. Joining the celebration are the widows of five legendary Yankees — Arlene Howard, widow of Elston Howard; Helen Hunter, widow of Jim “Catfish” Hunter; Jill Martin, widow of Billy Martin; Diana Munson, widow of Thurman Munson; and Cora Rizzuto, widow of Phil Rizzuto.

Recently added to the Old-Timers roster are former Yankees Aaron Small, Mike Stanley and David Wells. The newcomers also include seven members of the 1996 World Championship club, including Yankees Special Assistant to the General Manager Tino Martinez, Pat Kelly, Jimmy Key, Graeme Lloyd, Ramiro Mendoza, Jeff Nelson and Tim Raines. Baseball’s all-time stolen base leader Rickey Henderson will make his first Old-Timers’ Day appearance at Yankee Stadium, along with current pitching coach Dave Eiland, former manager Buck Showalter and former coach Jeff Torborg. The first-timers are rounded out by Don Baylor, Tony Fernandez, Wayne Tolleson and current YES Network broadcaster Al Leiter.

Joining the rookie Old-Timers on the baselines will be over 50 additional former Yankees, including at least one player from each of the last 16 Yankees World Championship teams since 1947. This year’s ceremonies will mark the largest number of Yankees alumni in uniform for Old-Timers’ Day in the history of the event.

Current List of those Scheduled to Attend
(*Denotes First-Time Old-Timer; HOF=Hall of Famer)

Jim Abbott
Luis Arroyo
Steve Balboni
Jesse Barfield
*Don Baylor
Yogi Berra (HOF)
Paul Blair
Johnny Blanchard
Ron Blomberg
Wade Boggs (HOF)
Scott Bradley
Dr. Bobby Brown
Homer Bush
Andy Carey
Chris Chambliss
Horace Clarke
Jerry Coleman
David Cone
Ron Davis
Bucky Dent
Al Downing
Brian Doyle
*Dave Eiland
*Tony Fernandez
Ed Figueroa
Whitey Ford (HOF)
Oscar Gamble
Joe Girardi
Rich “Goose” Gossage (HOF)
Eli Grba
Ken Griffey, Sr.
Ron Guidry
*Rickey Henderson
Arlene Howard (widow of Elston)
Helen Hunter (widow of Jim)
Reggie Jackson (HOF)
Tommy John
*Pat Kelly
*Jimmy Key
Gene “Mickey” Klutts
Johnny Kucks
Don Larsen
*Al Leiter
*Graeme Lloyd
Hector Lopez
Kevin Maas
Jill Martin (widow of Billy)
*Tino Martinez
Bobby Meacham
*Ramiro Mendoza
Gene Michael
Rich Monteleone
Diana Munson (widow of Thurman)
*Jeff Nelson
Graig Nettles
Paul O’Neill
Gil Patterson
Joe Pepitone
*Tim Raines
Bobby Richardson
Mickey Rivers
Cora Rizzuto (widow of Phil)
*Buck Showalter
Charlie Silvera
Bill “Moose” Skowron
*Aaron Small
Luis Sojo
*Mike Stanley
Darryl Strawberry
*Wayne Tolleson
*Jeff Torborg
Mike Torrez
Tom Tresh
Bob Turley
*David Wells
Dave Winfield (HOF)

Wish I could go. I have Saturday home game season tickets but every year they don't give me old timers day, they give it to the Sunday home gamers, those bastards.